Scoil Chríost Rí
Presentation School, Portlaoise

Pope John Paul Awards

Pope John Paul Awards Recipients 2022/23

We have a strong tradition in Scoil Chríost Rí of volunteerism through the faith-based Leadership award, the Pope John Paul II awards.

The Pope John Paul II Award is an award for young people between the age of 16 and 18. It is non-competitive, inclusive, flexible and voluntary.

The Award enables participants to take an active part in the life of their Church – in the life of their community and society. It enables young people to become more aware of the teaching and role of the Catholic Church in the world and to engage at a deep level with Christ.

Every 5th year is invited to take up the award and the number of students taking it on have increased year on year.

Students choose to do this award for a variety of reasons;

  • it promotes faith development and an active faith,
  • it develops leadership and initiative skills
  • it builds self-confidence
  • it promotes wellbeing connecting with others especially adults in the community.

Students must complete half of the hours in the parish and half as a social placement which can be divided up over the year.

They can opt for a Bronze, Silver or Gold award initially but anyone who has completed the gold award can opt in for the Papal Cross award in 6th year.

Our students in the past have helped run the parish’s Pray and Play group, operated the webcam which generates a live feed for mass online. They support the local Priests during busy times like Christmas, Communions and Confirmations. Many have trained up as Eucharistic Ministers. Many local charities, such as PATH, SVP and the Jack and Jill Foundation, benefit from the time that the students give to them for their social hours.

We are very proud of the students who take on and complete this award and the local priests and charities who offer placements to the girls.


Pope John Paul II Award Recipients 2022

Bronze Award: Silver Award: Gold Award: Papal Cross
Nana Afrah Esther Ojejimi Caoimhe Moore Cara Phelan
Sinead Dunne Aisling Foyle Sadhbh Dunne
Santa Tetere Agne Katelovic
Carly Fagan Reverence Atekha
Kate Rigney Holly Whelan
Ava Foley
Eva Whelan
Alice Conroy
Lauren Traynor
Gracious Adebiyi
Mairead O’Byrne
Julianne Juson
Liliana Jacob
Michelle Fred
Keeva Fingleton
Nora Major
Isabel Duff
Sarah Troy
Nanette Oiboh
Serena Azodo
Katie Lalor
Niamh Conroy
Veronika Onuorah
Ashling Fleming
Roisin Graham

Aug 22
School Reopens - Staff Training
Aug 23
1st year students return to school
Aug 26
1st, 3rd and 6th year students return to school
Aug 27
1st, 2nd, 3rd, TY, 5th & 6th students return to school
Scoil Chríost Rí
Borris Rd, Portlaoise, Co. Laois, R32 TK70
One Good School Award 2022-2023
© 2024 Scoil Chríost Rí